Our Leadership

Cure JM is led by a passionate team of volunteers, staff, and medical experts in juvenile myositis research and care.

Board of Directors

Nikki Hahn

Scarsdale, New York

Kristine Alderfer

Winona Lake, Indiana
Denise Koch

Denise Koch

Secretary of the National Leadership Council
Ottawa, Illinois

Justin Whitney

Yarmouth, Maine

Shari Hume, MBA

Co-Founder and Director
Encinitas, California

Tom Hume, MA

Co-Founder and Director
Encinitas, California

Tim Shelby, JD

The Woodlands, Texas

Brent Hauser

Austin, Texas

Dr. Van Ness, PH.D., DHSc, PA-C

Bayport, New York

Karen Berman, MBA

Oak Park, Illinois

Zachary Harrison

Hilliard, Ohio

Randy Putt

Director and Chair of the Grandparent Council
Lafayette, Indiana

Dave Maher

Director and Chair of the National Leadership Council
Estero, Florida
Michelle Best

Michelle Best

Arlington, Virginia
Debbie Daum

Debbie Daum

Rye, New York
Emily Ciaran

Julie Houpt

Dallas, Texas
Anna Ramsey

Anna Schwartz-Ramsey

Los Angeles, California

Mitali Dave, MS, MBA

Chair Emeritus
Short Hills, New Jersey

Medical Advisory Board

Lisa G. Rider, M.D.

Lisa G. Rider, M.D.

Head, Environmental Autoimmunity Group, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health

Lucy R. Wedderburn, Ph.D, MRCP

Director, Arthritis Research Centre for Adolescent Rheumatology University College London (UCL)

Anne Stevens, M.D., Ph.D

Senior Director, Immunology Janssen Research and Development

Ann M. Reed, M.D.

Chair, Department of Pediatrics Duke University School of Medicine

Lauren M. Pachman, M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Kanneboyina Nagaraju, DVM, MVSc, Ph.D.

Chair, Dean and Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences Binghamton University, State University of New York

Susan Kim, M.D., MMSc

Associate Clinical Professor of Pediatrics University of California, San Francisco

Adam Huber, M.D., M.Sc.

Professor of Pediatrics Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Brian Feldman, M.D., MSc, FRCPC

Head, Division of Rheumatology Hospital of Sick Children, Toronto
Stacey Tarvin, M.D.

Stacey Tarvin, M.D.

Program Director, Pediatric Rheumatology Riley Hospital, Chair of Cure JM’s Clinical Care Network

Andy Mammen, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Director, Johns Hopkins Myositis Center Investigator, National Institutes of Health


Jim Minow

Executive Director

Andrew Heaton, Ph.D.

Chief Scientific Officer

Shannon Malloy

Director of Development and Community Engagement

Suzanne Edison, M.A., M.F.A.

Mental Health Coordinator
Ryan King

Ryan King


Lauren Alvord

Clinical Care Network Manager

Dawn Moltzan

Development Associate

Betsy León

Development Associate
Nicole Ryba

Nicole Ryba

Chapter and Walk Manager

Tayler-Ann Brull

Communications Associate

Interested in DIY fundraising but need help?

We’re here to help!

To have your fundraiser matched, add “DIY Match” in the memo of your online gift or check.